Munster Club Junior A Football Semi Final

posted 15 Feb 2016, 15:02 by Eimear McMahon   [ updated 17 Feb 2016, 08:26 ]

Coolmeen created history by qualifying for our first ever Munster Junior Club Football Final by defeating Modeilgo of Waterford on a score of 0 – 08 to 1 – 03
This was a great game of football between two evenly matches sides played in Cooraclare GAA pitch. Playing with the wind, Cathal O’Connor scored the opening point of the game from play. Joe Corry & Cian Murphy extended the Coolmeen lead with points each from play. After 15 minutes Modeilgo opened their account with a pointed free. Coolmeen responded with a brilliant point from David Neenan to increase the lead. Soon afterwards Noel Meaney kicked a monster point from the half way line. Coolmeen were now dominant & Kevin (Val) McMahon pointed a free just before the short whistle.

Half Time: Coolmeen 0 – 06 Modeilgo 0 - 01

Coolmeen started the second half brightly even though playing against the strong wind. Modeilgo got the first point of the half to reduce the deficit. With 15 minutes gone in the half midfielder Patrick Walsh kicked the ball to the net for Modeilgo to reduce the margin to one point. Cathal O’Connor steadied the Coolmeen nerves with a pointed free. Second half substitute Brian Markham set up Ben Cleary who pointed to extend the Coolmeen lead to three points again. Modeilgo kept attacking & were awarded with a pointed free to reduce the lead. This score set up a grand stand finish. The Coolmeen defence held firm over the closing minutes & in the last action of the game Cathal O’Connor gained possession & ran down the clock before the referee blew the final whistle.

Full Time: Coolmeen 0 - 08 Modeilgo 1 - 03

There was great scenes of celebration as Coolmeen clinched a famous victory to qualify for the Munster final. All the Coolmeen supporters poured onto the pitch to congratulate our players & management. Coolmeen introduced Brian Markham, Paudie Corry, Thomas Coffey, Martie McMahon & Michèal Brooks as second half substitutes

Coolmeen Team: Aiden Corry, Darragh Cleary, Kevin (Val) McMahon, Kevin McMahon, Mark Meaney, Eoin O’Connor, Gary Meaney, Noel Meaney, Ben Cleary, Alan Normoyle, Sean McMahon, Joe Corry, Cian Murphy, David Neenan, Cathal O’Connor (C)
Subs: Adam Carrig, Marty McMahon, Micheal Brooks, Thomas Coffey, Paudie Corry, Brian Markham, Donal Houlihan, Aiden Hanrahan, Jamie Brooks, Kevin (Jack) McMahon, Sean Wallace, Barry Vaughan, Mickey McGuane, Alan Corry, Alan Marrinan, Shane McMahon, Aaron Kelly, Declan Casey, Enda Haugh
Manager: Martin Daly
Mentors: Declan Casey, Brian Meaney, Jack McMahon, Enda Haugh
Physio: Aoife McMahon