Junior A Championship Final

posted 24 Nov 2015, 04:27 by Eimear McMahon   [ updated 15 Feb 2016, 15:05 ]


Coolmeen reclaimed the County Junior A Football Title after a gap of 16 years by defeating Clondegad on a score of 1 – 11 to  2 - 07

This was a great game of football between two evenly matches sides. Kevin (Val) McMahon opened the Coolmeen account with a pointed free. Clondegad responded with a point of their own. David Neenan extended the Coolmeen lead with a point from play. After 15 minutes Clondegad were awarded a penalty which David Brassil converted to give them the lead. Coolmeen responded with a brilliant passing move where Alan Normoyle gave the final pass to Cathal O’Connor who rattled the Clondegad net for a brilliant goal. David Neenan added a quick point to increase the lead. Coolmeen were now dominant & Mark Meaney & Ben Cleary added points to give Coolmeen a four point lead. Clondegad responded with 2 pointed frees to reduce the margin. At this stage Coolmeen substitute Paudie Corry was sent off. Cian Murphy added a point just before the break

Half Time:  Coolmeen 1 – 06     Clondegad 1 - 03

Coolmeen started the second half brightly with 2 pointed frees from Cathal O’Connor & Kevin (Val) McMahon to extend the lead. Coolmeen continued to press & further points from both Cathal (1) & Kevin (2) gave Coolmeen a commanding lead. Clondegad introduced Colm Quinlivan as a sub & he quickly fisted a goal to reduce the margin. With the extra man Clondegad got on top with further points to leave 2 points between the teams. In the closing stages Thomas Coffey got a black card & Cathal O’Connor received his second yellow to leave Coolmeen with 13 players to finish the game. Deep in injury time Clondegad reduced the margin to one point to set up a grand stand finish. In the last action of the game David Neenan gained possession & ran down the clock before kicking the ball narrowly wide before the referee blew the final whistle.

 Full Time:  Coolmeen  1 -  11    Clondegad   2  -   07

There was great scenes of celebration as Coolmeen finally regained the  Junior A title. All the Coolmeen supporters poured onto the pitch to congratulate our players & management.

Afterwards County Board Chairman Michael (Malty) McDonagh presented the Michael Toner Cup to victorious Coolmeen Captain Cathal O’Connor.

Cùil Mìn Team: Aiden Corry, Darragh Cleary, Kevin (Val) McMahon, Kevin McMahon, Mark Meaney, Eoin O’Connor, Gary Meaney, Noel Meaney, Ben Cleary, Alan Normoyle, Sean McMahon, Joe Corry, Cian Murphy, Davis Neenan, Cathal O’Connor (C)

Subs: Adam Carrig, Marty McMahon, Micheal Brooks, Kevin Corry, Thomas Coffey, Paudie Corry, Brian Markham, Donal Houlihan, Aiden Hanrahan, Jamie Brooks, Kevin (Jack) McMahon, Sean Wallace, Barry Vaughan, Mickey McGuane, Alan Corry, Alan Marrinan, Shane McMahon, Aaron Kelly, Declan Casey, Enda Haugh

Manager: Martin Daly

Mentors: Declan Casey, Brian Meaney, Jack McMahon, Enda Haugh

Physio: Aoife McMahon